Catholic Teen’s Q&A #1

Due to overwhelming feedback via comments and email, not to mention previous requests, I’ve decided to make this happen.  Every Sunday, I’ll do one of these posts.  Soon there will be a page labeled Q&A at the top of my site where you can submit your question.  You can also email me anytime, or simply ask your question in the comments of any post you like.  I will only do a set amount of stuff each time, so if I don’t get to your question that week, hang tight.

1.  Where do you think your faith journey is going to lead you later in life?

There is a very easy answer to this.  I have absolutely no idea at all.  I’ll do my best to do what God wants, and as many of you know, God sometimes asks people to do outrageous and awesome things that they never would have done otherwise (St. Paul).  God may call me to the priesthood, he may call me to the married life, he may call me to the single life.  I don’ know.  But if I had to guess, I would say that in ten years, I would be doing something involving evangelization and/or apologetics.  I know that’s a pretty broad spectrum, but I’m almost certain about that.  I took one of those Myers-Briggs Personality Tests, and i got the one called “The Debater”.  I showed my friends and they absolutely agreed.  Sorry I couldn’t give you a more direct answer, but its all I got.

2. Are you Republican or Democrat?

Well, for starters I can’t vote yet, so it doesn’t really matter.  But even if I was of age, I wouldn’t be either.  I would still remain Catholic.  I choose the cross over the elephant and donkey hands down.  There was a funny post on Daniel Bearman’s Blog about this (here).  I’ll leave it to him to further explain that.  But, if I had to choose, I would go with Republican.  80% of Democrats are crazy, but only 79% of Republicans are crazy.  Republicans generally are more conservative (pro-life, pro-traditional marriage, pro-religion) than Democrats.  The last few candidates I’ve liked the best (or hated least) have been Republican.  But again, I’m Catholic, not Republican or Democrat.

3. Do you prefer Extraordinary Form or Novus Ordo?

Okay, funny you should ask.  My parish just started offering Extraordinary Form every Sunday regularly.  That hasn’t happened in my diocese for a very long time.  So, me and my family loaded up the Toddler Toter (our humongous van) and headed to church bright and early to catch it.  I used to serve the Latin Mass when I was younger, but I stopped.  It was the first time I had been to it in a very long time.  And to be perfectly honest, I think i knew where we were in the Mass like once, which was at communion.  I got the Gloria, but I was lost for the rest of it.  As my family goes to this more often, i’m sure I’ll get used to it.  So right now, its hard to say which i like better, since I haven’t got a very full experience of Extraordinary Form in a while.  Also, I forgot to mention that I couldn’t see anything because of super tall people, and there was a little girl sitting next on me who kept sneezing and coughing on me the entire time.  So as of right now, if I had to choose, I would go to Novus Ordo.  PS, my parish does ordinary form very well.  So its hard to part with.

4. What’s your favorite book?

Is that even a question!?  Have you read any of my previous posts?  The Lord of the Rings!  Duh.  It is by far the pinnacle of human imagination and the shining example of what fiction should be.  Tolkien shows the world that you can’t outgrow fairy tales without missing out on something fundamentally human.  The book in of itself is an amazing work of fiction, but if you look at the philosophy and ideas under the surface, it becomes the greatest work of human fiction ever written.  The Second Greatest Story Ever Told.  PS, I’m a Tolkien nerd.  If I could move to the Shire, I would.  But I would make sure to bring a priest to offer Mass.  I did at one time learn to speak a bit of elvish, and dabbled in Drwarvish.  So I may be a little biased…but still correct.  If you share my love of Middle Earth, i would love to talk about it any time.

Thanks for your questions guys!  If I didn’t get to yours this week, remind me so I don’t forget.  If you have a question you would like to ask me, about anything and or everything, you know where to go.  God Bless.

In Christ, Catholic2theMax

4 thoughts on “Catholic Teen’s Q&A #1

  1. All of your answers were excellent!!! Oh, how I truly believe God has such wonderful things in store for you! I know you will carry it out so well. My husband and myself had a wonderful laugh over the “Toddler Toter.” You not only bring wisdom, but much joy in the lives of others. Hmmm, seems like someone else did that. Oh that is right, His name is Jesus! God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t go comparing me to Jesus. I’m not that good. i personally call the van the toddler toter. its actually a nissan nv passenger van. We have the bare bones version. the most high tech thing in it is the radio that barely works. But hey, it gets all of us from A to B relatively safely. Thanks again.

      Like

      • Oh, I am not “comparing” you to Jesus. I just truly believe He lives inside of your heart, mind, body, and soul. I also believe He guides every word you speak and every step you take. Getting you from A to B safely, that is all that matters! God Bless, SR

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

