Comfort and Greatness

So, if you didn’t already know from some of my earlier posts, I’m part of the Marching Band at my high school.  I started playing the alto sax just a year before I joined my Freshman year (that’s barely any).  I was very inexperienced and unprepared for what I was going to be asked to do.  I couldn’t play the music and I could barely march, so they made me an alternate who just pushes the props around.  It was pretty cool, actually.  I went everywhere with the band and pushed a fake camera around.  I got featured on the jumbotron at Lucas Oil Stadium a couple times.  It was hard, but not that hard.

This year is a whole different enchilada.  I have improved my marching technique a lot, and have also spent time getting better musically.  When they dished out this year’s music, it was twice as hard.  But I practiced and practiced, and soon I only had a couple measures that still needed work.  Yesterday (July 16, 2015), we had an all-day rehearsal to get ready for our all-week band camp.  We were outside marching, and it was the time when they choose who is going to be an alternate.  One of the band directors pulls someone aside during a water break and tells them that they will be an alternate for the season.  I was marching around with my alto, feeling good about my improvements, when the assistant band director tells me to see him at the break.  I got pretty disappointed.  I worked so hard to meet their standards and I still am an alternate?  What stinks the most about it is that usually only one sophomore is an alternate, the rest are freshies.  So its really bad luck to be the one sophomore out of 60 that is an alternate.

At the water break I walked over and stood in front of the director.  He says, “You’ve improved a ton.  Not only marching and music, but also your determination and work-ethic.  I’m very glad to see that you have begun to be comfortable in your position.  But…”  I brace myself for the bad news tat I knew was coming.  “But, we need you to march Bari Sax instead.”

For those of you who don’t know, an alto sax is relatively small, but a baritone sax is about 3x as big.

Alto is the one on the far left, then tenor, and finally bari on the right.
Soprano sax is on the bottom, then Alto is the one on the far left, then tenor, and finally bari on the right.

For some reason I still don’t understand, I agreed to march bari.  Its a lot heavier, more awkward to play, and not to mention that I have never played it before.  Band Camp is this Sunday, and I have two days to learn the music and be able to march with it perfectly.  But hey, it’s only marching band.  Ok, it’s a lot harder than it looks.  However, I do have a history of doing these kinds of things.  I used to play football, and I was really good at it (not to brag).  I played defensive end, but my coach needed me at fullback and tight end.  I said that I’ll play whoever he put me.  I ended up playing almost ever position except Qb and running back.  In baseball, I typically played outfield, but my coach wanted me at third.  I had a terrible fear of getting hit with the ball, but I did it anyways.  And finally, band.  When I took the infamous bari out of the case I was like:3973c399c75172b31e8d7a73982c8c10

But when I took a good look at it after it was fully assembled:IMG_5391  I felt like Frodo when I finally took it off.  c2192f9c1e4c9eb5c17e1f24affe37eb67c08459f991487cc19016e1c660cd73

That night, my band director gave a great speech.  he started out with a quote.

“10% of life is what happens to you, 90% of it is how you respond”

He went on to talk about how he kicked our butts that night (very true, considering I marched with a 20 pound sax for two hours straight).  He talked a lot about getting out of your comfort zone, and taking risks.  No one has ever achieved greatness while being comfortable he says.  If you’re starting to feel good about how you are doing, do more.  Push yourself to do more than you think you can, because I know you can.

I couldn’t help but hear Jesus in his words.  read it over again with God as the speaker.  It sounds like him, doesn’t it?  If you feel comfortable just going to church on Sunday, you need to do more.  If you feel uncomfortable about something, generally, generally mind you, you’re on the right path.  Has anyone ever gotten the girl of their dreams by feeling comfortable and not talking to her?  Has anyone won a Super Bowl without taking a single risk?  Has anyone made it to Heaven, just trying to be “good enough”?  Heck No!  Jesus asks for the impossible, but He rarely requires it.  If you give, 110%, Jesus will give the rest.  If you aim for like 98-ish, your gonna get 9.8-ish.  Give your best, and then some.  At band, we do a breathing exercise, where we fill up our lungs in 5 counts, and then take gulps of air for 15 counts.  Our air wasn’t really full after five, was it?  How about this.  Raise your hand as high as you can.  Higher.  Higher.  You could go farther, couldn’t you?  That’s what we always need to do.

“The world offers you comfort, but you were not made for comfort.  You were made for Greatness” – JPII

In Christ, Catholic2theMax

PS, I really need some prayers today and for the rest of the week.  Thanks!

6 thoughts on “Comfort and Greatness

    • I do not know if you are really his grandfather or not, but if you are, “GREAT JOB WITH THIS KID AND TO HIS PARENTS ALSO! Anytime y’all want to get rid of him, I will be happy to adopt! 🙂 He amazes me with every single word he ever types on this blog. Somewhere in his post he always places a smile on my face and in my heart. Y’all have a lot to be proud of.

      To you Catholic2, I believe God has many great things in store for you. You carry them out all so well! God Bless, SR

      Liked by 2 people

  1. As the proud mom of this bright young man, I must say it makes me smile every time I read his blog posts. He gets it! 🙂 He has had a close relationship with our Lord from a very young age, and to see his love for Christ continue to grow, and not be smothered by this culture of death, is a marvelous thing! I’m glad he can share it with others in this way. As the oldest of our 8 kiddos, I feel confident that he’ll continue to be a great leader and example for the others. ! O:)

    “If you are what you should be, you will set the whole world ablaze!”
    ~St. Catherine of Sienna

    God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Spoken like a true “Mom!” Pat yourselves on the back with this young man, you have really done a great job with him. He has blessed my life immensely with many things, but most of all his wisdom! I cannot believe given his age, he has the wisdom of someone 60-70. That is a gift from God on his life in and of itself.

      One of the “many” things I admire about him so much is how he is willing to stand up for what he does “in fact” believe. How he stand up for it, also. With so much peer pressure, he does not budge an inch, and to me this shows a certain character in him, which some of our youth nowadays, do not possess.

      As someone 60, he brings me so much hope for the future of the Church. He truly has the many gifts it takes, to keep in going. Great job Mom and Dad! Great job, Catholic2!

      And yes we know this is your blog and you are reading this. We are going to talk about you, anyways! 🙂 See, as you get older, you “earn” certain rights and this is one of them, Kiddo! Love to you, your family and God Bless, SR

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

