Come to Me

Last night I went to Totus Tuus at my parish.  They have one in the day for the younger kids, but they also have one for the high schoolers at night.  It started out normally enough, but one of the missionaries made the announcement that we would be having a holy hour with the blessed sacrament followed by benediction.  Me and one of my friends got to serve adoration and benediction, so we had to leave the talk a couple minutes early.

I remember when I made my first holy hour a couple years ago.  When my Fraternus group said we would be doing one, there was really only one thought running through my mind: “Is it really a whole hour?  Why not just fifteen minutes?”.  Yes, it is a whole hour.  And the reason why it is an hour, is because of a question Jesus asked in the garden of Gethsemane: Could you not watch with me one hour?  Over the years I’ve learned how to do them.  Like ACTS: Adoration, Contrition, Thanksgiving, and Supplication.

Anyway, last night I made a holy hour after going to confession.  I went through ACTS, which took me about 20 minutes or so.  then I read Mother Teresa’s I Thirst For You, and finished off with some Mental Prayer.  It was so amazing I can’t put it into words.  The grace was overwhelming.  I told Jesus that I wish I could do this forever.  You CAN!  I didn’t have to look around to see who said those words.  He was right in front of me.  In the monstrance.  You CAN do this forever.  Come to me!  Now, I bet most people probably would not believe that I heard God last night.  The reason why they can’t hear them, is that they won’t stop talking.  Have you ever met someone who asks you a question, but then won’t give you a chance to answer.  That is what we’re like most of the time.  Most of the time last night, I couldn’t get a song out of my head.  But I did eventually, and I gave Jesus a chance to answer.

I woke up this morning, and after some breakfast, I read the readings for today.  The Gospel shocked me.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

It’s what God spoke in my heart last night.  All of us are laden with burdens of many different kinds: worries at school, troubles with work, not to mention sins and imperfections.  Jesus wants to take them from you.  Give them to Him, and He will give you rest.  Now, its not some long journey you have to make to get to Him.  You don’t have to climb Mt. Everest to reach God.  All you need to do to find Jesus is to open your door.  He stands at the door and knocks.  Even when you don’t see Him, even when you don’t hear Him, He is there.

“Come to Me with your misery and your sins, with your troubles and needs, and with all your longing to be loved. I stand at the door of your heart and knock. Open to Me, for I THIRST FOR YOU…”  – Mother Teresa

In Christ, Catholic2theMax

2 thoughts on “Come to Me

  1. I love Adoration! I hear Jesus all the time when I am there. The first thing I do after prayers of course, is silence my soul. I have learned many things in Adoration and I am so happy you take the time to go, though that does not shock me at all, with you! You are such a blessing to us all. God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love adoration! Well, usually just the first ten minutes or so. people of my age get really bored really quick. So its a nice challenge not only to do that, but to silence the soul, and let God speak. In our lives, so often its me, me, me. We want people to hear and do what we want them to. But adoration turn the focus to God. That’s why i love it so much. And to be honest, that’s pretty much the first time He has spoken to me in adoration. I’ve heard Him elsewhere, but it has been years since it last happened. It was a great experience. Thanks again.

      In Christ, Catholic2theMax

      Like

Leave a Reply

