Rediscovering Jesus / Wrap-up

Rediscovering Jesus

I remember a couple years ago, my family went on a vacation to the Outer Banks in North Carolina.  One night my parents left me and my other siblings with my Grandparents so they could go on a date.   I was just a little kid, so I obviously didn’t understand why they had to leave right when we rented one of my favorite movies.  My dad told me two things.  The first was why they have to go on dates.  It helps them recall what they love so much about each other, and to forget each other’s imperfections.  The second (and more appealing to me at the time) was that we had some left over pizza in the fridge.

We all need to “go on a date”with Jesus every once and a while.  For me personally, I usually just go through the motions during Mass, not really appreciating what is happening.  That’s true for a lot of people today.  If it wasn’t, I don’t think America would be nearly as messed up as it is right now.

When I learn something in Algebra, I can stuff it in my head and ace the quiz.  I might even learn it well enough to ace a test weeks later without having to study.  But eventually, I’ll get the places of x and y mixed up, or if it was more than or less than.  The point is, the longer you know about something without continually studying it, the less you’ll know about it.  When you first come across a subject, you have a choice.  You could cram it not your head to make your teacher happy, or you could actually learn the material and actually understand it.  I don’t want to know how many Christians memorize the ten commandments for Sunday School and promptly forget them on Monday when they go to school.

When my parents go on a date, they like to go to one of two places.  One is a super-fancy Italian restraint (my Mom’s favorite), and the other is a Buffalo Burger joint (my Dad’s favorite).  When you rediscover Jesus, it is sort of like that.  You could go to a retreat like the ones Opus Dei puts on, or you could rediscover Jesus in your own busy life.  You can do it anywhere, as long as you are with Jesus.

Our secularized society has distorted Jesus into just a “nice guy” or merely a “good teacher”.  We forget how powerful and groundbreaking his teachings were.  We forget how much He loves us.  We need to remember Jesus.  We need to rediscover Jesus.


Wrap-Up

Note: Top 5’s are now in order unless otherwise noted.

Top 5 Most Popular Posts

1. Elusive Peace 

2. 7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit

3. Pentecost and Why It’s Still Important

4. Behold, I stand at the Door and Knock

5. The Way

Top 5 Favorite Blogs

1. Word on Fire – Fr. Barron and the rest of the WOF Contributors have a perfect blend of reflections, advice, and movie reviews to make it my #1 favorite Blog.

2. Fr. Z – Like I said earlier, this is one of the best, well-kept, and most insightful blogs this side of Eternal Life.

3. Defenders of the Catholic Faith – Steve Ray does a stupendous job of everything, including his choice of hats.

4. Catholic Memes – If you have ever read my blog, you would know how often I reference them or use their memes.

5. Living the Reality of Jesus – The one and only WordPress.com blog to make it onto this list this month.  Definitely one of my favorites, as it always will be.

Catholic Teen News

  • Due to some disappointing spam and inappropriate comments, I am considering moving to a new site.  If anyone has any advice about how to deal with this, or recommendations for where to move, that would be great.
  • I’m going to be extremely busy this July.  I have to go to my brother’s baptism up in Notre Dame, then I have Band for almost the rest of the month.  I’ll try to set up scheduled posts as often as I can, but there won’t be much new stuff.  If you would like to guest blog while I’m gone, just comment about it.  It would be a big help.

In Christ, Catholic2theMax


4 thoughts on “Rediscovering Jesus / Wrap-up

  1. Wonderful post and you know you are one if not the “favorite blog of mine,” and always will be. Moving!!!!!!!!!!!! I think not!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you do, I better know where to. I would miss you greatly.

    We all deal with the spam and the comments, this is the way I look at it. We deal with nice people and not so nice people. It is my blog and if I want to post a comment I do and if I do not then I do not. I get some nasty ones due to the nature of my post sometimes. Then I will go months without them. I think we open ourselves up to that, when we blog.

    We also open ourselves up to a lot of love, as I have had the same “blogging family” for 8 years, and many of us email, send gifts, etc… All on my blog list are wonderful people including you!!

    I look so forward to always reading the gift of spiritual wisdom you have. You always amaze me with your knowledge. From that I know the Holy Spirit dwells in your heart, always.

    Just let me know if you move, but would really hate to lose you! God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t worry. I meant as a worse-case scenario. Even if I do, it wouldn’t be for a while. Thanks so much for your support by the way. People like you remind me why I even do this in the first place. Thanks again and God Bless!

      In Christ, Catholic2theMax

      Like

Leave a Reply

