Protestantism…Some Assembly Required

20140207-183446

11 thoughts on “Protestantism…Some Assembly Required

  1. First off, I do understand that this is meant to be a joke. Second off, I don’t believe that as a pertinent Christ follower, this is the kind of joke that you want to be indulging in. Before I explain my specific reasoning, I should probably mention that I’m Protestant so this is obviously going to be a biased comment, I’m not actually offended–just passionate. That aside, I think as a Christian you should reevaluate this kind of slander.
    1) The ultimate goal of the Church is to be loving. In fact, we should be so loving that we are known by our love (John 13:35). Love, by definition, is self donation for the good of another (John 15:13). However, this post does not show any of that love. It harbors a prudish animosity towards Protestant brothers and sisters. It pokes fun at their belief system and does not instill a loving spirit towards them.
    2) By all means, there is room for disagreement in the body. However, openly broadcasting such disagreements without providing a rational explanation to promote unity is ammunition for people of a more secular persuasion to use against us at a later date. Jokes like these produce questions like these, “If Christians cannot even agree with each other and need to resort to slandering different denominations, then why should I pursue the church?” It is our job to stand as a united front for Christ. Instead of focusing jokes on our differences, we need to be working on furthering the kingdom. This post doesn’t help any of that.

    Like

    • I’m very sorry that I offended you by that post. I can assure you that was not my intention. I realize I added insult to injury when I did not back up the comic with reasoning. I do realize that as Christians, we should stand united with Christ, but I do believe Protestants played a large part in that particular problem. I’m not pointing fingers or anything though. If you would like, I can write a post on this at a later date, with a rational explanation of course. You could do that through the “Ask me to write about a post” page at the top of my blog. I’ll get to the post much quicker that way (and it helps me with organization). Anyway, I got that cartoon from Steve Ray’s site: http://www.catholic-convert.com/blog/2015/05/21/cartoon-on-protestantism-and-the-bible/

      Again, I cannot express my sorrow that this offended you and possibly others. I am glad to see people that are willing to talk about it. God Bless!

      In Christ, catholic2themax

      Like

      • I’m not offended–especially because I know that Protestants play a huge role in the division of the church. I’ve left several because of the way they treated my best friend (who was Catholic) when she would come to church with me. However, I believe comics like these, if not backed up with factual reasoning, help breed the animosity between the two branches of Christianity, and that’s not the kind of Christian community I stand for. I would love to hear your reasoning behind the post though, even if it’s in another blog post, and I’ll be sure to ask about it in your “Ask about…” section. Thanks for being so willing to dialogue with me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for not being offended. I do definitely agree, it could be taken the wrong way and cause further division among the Christian community. That is why dialogue is so important. Not debates, but conversation. It’s so refreshing to see someone who just wants to talk to another person, not just past them. I’ll definitely look forward to further conversation! God Bless!
        In Christ, catholic2themax

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much for filling out the form. You have no idea of how much it helps me organizationally. But I don’t think that my reasoning behind the comic is sufficiently effective in a blog post. Maybe if you could pick one big topic that we talked about in the comments I can add the reasoning to the cartoon in the same post. You know, hit two birds with one stone. By the way, I read your blog, it’s very good! You’ll have to go easy on me when I write my post because I have only just finished my Freshman year of High school and do not have a much knowledge under my belt as you do 🙂 . Anyway, thanks for your time. God Bless!
        In Christ, catholic2themax

        Like

      • Sure thing. Honestly, one of the reasons I followed your blog was to have a better understanding of the Catholic faith. I’m tired of Protestants bashing the Catholic faith. If you could possibly do a compare and contrast of what you know of the two faiths? And don’t worry about me. I’m coming from a heart of inquiry not of spite. I’m hear to learn and discover and broaden my faith, not to tear down or chastise yours. I may know a lot about what Southern Baptists believe, but I know little to nothing about what Catholics believe. You’re doing a fine job. God bless.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sure thing. I’ll definitely write a comparison tomorrow. I do know a bit about Southern Baptists since I live in Tennessee. I’ll do my best to give you a better understanding of Catholicism, and maybe you can give me a better understanding of your own faith. God Bless!
        In Christ, catholic2themax

        Like

Leave a Reply

