Some People

Pope-meme

I feel like this so often.  On the reader page of WordPress, I follow the “Catholic” Tag.  Sometimes people will post Anti-Catholic stuff on there with that tag.  There was one about how no devout catholic could ever be a good parent.  Annoyed sigh.  It is always nice to see and actual Catholic post under the Catholic Tag.  It’s even better when Catholic Memes comes out with a new post.  Ah, that site is awesome.  Anyway, it’s a lot easier to deal with the anti-Catholic comments in real life.  I feel much more at home in a face to face conversation.  Even not discussing it, but just taking the blow is easier in real life.  I don’t feel alone because I have a couple of really good devout Catholic friends that always have my back.  Elsewhere, I feel a lot more alone, helpless even.  I know I’m never alone with God, but I still get that feeling.  I have a “Catholic” friend who will usually take the wrong side of an argument and say something weird.  He’s all for that “all religions are equal” stuff.  He claims that the Catholic Church isn’t correct, it’s just the closest to being right out of all the beliefs in the world.  Whenever that happens, I’m just like:

386829_648386915921_939879991_n

It’s usually pretty funny to see his argument collapse after the relentless barrage of sound theology from me and my friends.  I know that kid well, so I can have serious conversations with him from time to time without his dismissal of logic.  I always try to remember my own advice from the post the Apostolate of Friendship.  I have a hard time doing so.  The point that I am trying to say is that without those few select Catholic friends I have, I wouldn’t be wrighting this.  I would probably be just remain quiet on religion.  You know, keep your religion to yourself and all that.  I was like that at the start of my Freshman year.  Some of my friends were talking about abortion and they asked me how I felt about it.  I, a confirmed catholic, who has every responsibility to defend and share the truth, said I didn’t really care.  Looking back, I can’t even see how I let myself do that.  Then I met a couple of Catholic friends who had been in the apologetics business longer than I (I was homeschooled for a couple grades).  They gave me the courage to speak up.  Together with my friends, we all wore Yes on 1 buttons during the 40 days for life.  I have to admit, half the time I wore a jacket over my button during a few classes.  I didn’t want to face harsh criticism from people I didn’t know.  It was a really big learning experience for me.  Fast forward a couple months, and I write a blog about Catholicism.  I wear a Catholic t-shirt like every other day.  This isn’t me bragging, it’s me bragging about my friends.  All this is because of them.

Of course, with anybody, they do have their negative sides.  One of them is super philosophical and hurts my brain all the time. One of them is less traditional than I am, and we joke about his Church’s newer Worship music compared to my church’s classical chant and hymns.  But they are some of the best kids I have ever met.  They continue to change my life and keep it on the narrow way towards Jesus.  So this post is for them, and for all those heroic teens out there taking a stand for the truth.  For all those courageous souls bringing others closer to Jesus.  This is for you also, my brave reader.  Yes, Pope Francis, it’s for you too.  Don’t excommunicate me or anything, okay?  Thanks for reading and God Bless!

8 thoughts on “Some People

  1. I like your blog! Attending a baptist university, I can see that Catholics are often made fun of, maybe not directly, but the tension is definitely there. I was raised in a non-religious household, but after hear about and acknowledging the good news, I’ve decided to become a Christian. My biggest dilemma now is deciding on whether to become protestant or catholic. It’s difficult to judge what is right. I’ve just started a blog to record my thoughts as I begin to read the Bible in depth. If I do become Catholic, I am afraid of being judged and made fun of. Do you have any advice?

    Like

    • Fist off, Thank you for reading my blog. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I am extremely glad to here that you are becoming a christian. As far as Catholic vs Protestant, Catholics are cooler (no offense protestants 🙂 ). We receive Jesus, Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity in the Eucharist every Sunday, free of charge 🙂 . But wait, there’s more! I could go on, but I don’t even think that after a few hundred years protestants know what they’re even protesting about anymore. If you would like to learn more about Catholicism and all its awesomeness, email me at catholic2themax.wordpress@gmail.com. I do get that you are afraid of being made fun of. Read my post on the 7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit, that might help. But anyway, why should you be afraid. I do get it, I’m afraid all the time of being judged and made fun of. It says in Psalm 23,”Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
      I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” St. Francis of Assisi also said,” All the darkness in the world cannot extinguish the light of a single candle.” As for as that it is difficult to judge what is right, spend some time researching the Catholic Church. Not from news services who just want to give us a bad name, but from legitimate sources like RCIA, catholic.com, usccb.org, or even my blog! I have much more advice if you’d like to email me. Thank you very much for reading again. I have trust that if you earnestly seek the truth, it will show itself. God Bless!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is really good and I am so proud of you! I was a Protestant for 48 years and have been Catholic the last 10. One of the greatest blessings of my life, is the Church.

    I have a lot of Protestant friends, and I had many who left me because of the conversion. One of my best friends of 15 years said, “I want no part of it,” which hurt me deeply.

    It is hard at times to defend our faith, but St. Peter said “always be ready to defend.” The best way to do that with our Protestant brothers and sisters is through the Bible. If you show them in Scripture because they are Sola Scriptura and piece the Bible together for them, they will begin to understand. However this takes a lot of study and the best place to start is with A Father Who Keeps His Promises by Scott Hahn.

    You have to remember they have over 36,000 different denominations, and each have their own interpretation of Scripture. The problem is they do it line by line, instead of seeing the whole Bible for what it is. They do not understand the “Traditions” because they do not have them. They were given to the Catholic Church alone. After this week I am going to be posting on Sola Scriptura and show in Scripture where that is not quite true. I am finishing up on my Saint post this week. I enjoyed reading this so much, and I admire you greatly. God Bless, SR

    Like

    • I am deeply honored that you enjoyed this. I threw this together at the last moment because I was bored and felt like writing something. Ya, I’ve only been Catholic the first decade and a half of my life, well, the decade and a half years of my life. One of the thing I love doing is asking sola scripture people where sola scripture is in the bible. It isn’t. I knew there were a lot of denominations, but 36000!? Wow. Thanks again. I also admire your blog a lot. Thank you very much and God Bless!

      Like

  3. When you ask them in the Bible where is Sola-Scriptura do you know where to go to show them why it is not in there? That is what they need to see, and I will be addressing all of that in my post. A Protestant is extremely Scripture grounded no matter their views on it. I know when I was a Protestant I could not piece the Bible together from Genesis to Revelations and of course the Catholic Church can. They do not understand the Bible is a total repeat of itself from the first book to the last. I studied 10 years to see how it was. So maybe I can help you out here some, if you need it. Just ask if you do. God Bless, SR

    Like

Leave a Reply

