On Confession

tumblr_lzpu6rpUt81qidm3so1_500

One of my non-Catholic friends asked me earlier today, “Hey, why do you like going to confession so much?  Whats so great about that you go to it every week?”.  I told him after some thought, “Actually, I hate going to Confession”.

My friend was surprised and asked why I go at all if I don’t like it.  I told him that it’s not going to confession that I love, its receiving absolution and getting out of confession that I like.  No kid likes taking a bath, they just like getting done with it and being clean.  It’s the same thing.  I mean, if anybody actually enjoys sharing their faults with another person by itself, I would be surprised.  We humans don’t like others to know about our defects, and we certainly don’t want to tell them.  I explained this to my friend, along with a short summary of why the priesthood has the power to forgive sins.  If you want more on that subject, comment about it and I’ll expand on that subject further in a later blog.

I especially don’t like it when I know the priest well.  I always think he’ll judge me right as I get in the line.  I started to realize that it might not be a coincidence, me getting that feeling right before I go to Confession.  If you were the devil, when would you attack humans the hardest?  Right before they are about to deal a large blow to you and your work, right?  That’s what he’s trying to do.  Same thing with prayer.  Ever wonder why it’s so hard  to concentrate when you’re praying the Rosary?  When you notice yourself feeling scared or nervous before Confession, just push through it and know that it isn’t a priest behind the screen, its Our Lord speaking.

If you have never seen the movie or read the book, Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader, I highly encourage you to watch it.  For those of you who have, you’ll get this analogy.  Eustace has been transformed into a dragon by trying to take Dragon gold.  Later on, still a dragon, the ship arrives to the island of evil, which they must defeat.  Eustace spots a sea serpent, and flees his companions.  He flies until he falls onto another island.  Aslan the lion approaches him, and scrapes the sand.  Eustace can feel the dragon scales going away, but it came with horrible searing pain.  Aslan then roars, and Eustace has been transformed back into a boy again, and transported back to an island where he can help defeat the evil.  This is almost a perfect analogy.  He sinned when he took the gold, which transformed him.  When we sin, it changes our souls.  When he fled, it took him off the battleground.  Aslan forgave him, and gave his body back to him.  When we go to confession, it transforms us back to who we really are, sons and daughters of the living God in Jesus Christ.

You see, confession isn’t fun, but it is one of the most powerful spiritual tools you have access to.

“The confession of evil works is the first beginning of good works.”

           – Saint Augustine
3 thoughts on “On Confession

Leave a Reply

